The Council exists to connect faculty, staff, students and community partners in research-based projects designed to solve critical problems identified collaboratively by community members and the University. All academic disciplines are represented on a Council made up of campus and community members. The Council's various committees oversee project funding, conduct an awards program, publish a research journal, propose methods to integrate teaching and research, and seek outside funding all with the goal of fulfilling the Division of Community Affairs' motto: "Engaging Communities and Changing Lives."

2016–2017 Council Meetings

Wednesday, September 28, 2016 | 11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
Bryant Conference Center, Rast Room
Meeting Overview

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 | 11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
Bryant Conference Center, Birmingham Room
Meeting Overview

Thursday, February 16, 2017 | 11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
Bryant Conference Center, Birmingham Room

Thursday, April 6, 2017 | 11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
Bryant Conference Center, Birmingham Room

Council Executive Committee

Chair of the Executive Committee
Dr. Peter Hlebowitsh, Dean, College of Education

Chair of the Proposal and Seed Funding Committee
Dr. Martha Crowther, Professor, Department of Psychology

Chair of the Faculty Teaching and Research Support Committee
Dr. Rebecca Allen, Professor of Psychology, Alabama Research Institute on Aging

Chair of the Academic Conference and Presentation Committee
Dr. Jen Nickelson, Human Environmental Sciences

Chair of the Excellence in Community Engagement Recognition Committee
Dr. George Daniels, College of Communication and Information Sciences.

Chair of the Community Partnership Support
Amanda Waller, Executive Director, Tuscaloosa One Place

Co-Chairs of the Student Involvement and Support Committee
Calia Torres, Graduate Student - Department of Psychology
Tera “CeeCee” Johnson, Undergraduate Student, Department of Psychology

 

Council Members

Natalie Adams New College, nadams@as.ua.edu
Carol Agomo Community Affairs, cnagomo@ua.edu
Tania Alameda-Lawson School of Social Work, talamedalawson@ua.edu
David Albright School of Social Work, dlalbright@sw.ua.edu
Stacy Alley
Musical Theatre and Dance, salley@as.ua.edu
Marcus Ashford Mechanical Engineering, marcus.ashford@eng.ua.edu
Natalie Beck Master's Student, nmbeck@sa.ua.edu
Ginger Bishop Institutional Effectiveness, vabishop@ua.edu
Sheila Black Psychology, sblack@psych.as.ua.edu
Stephen Black Center for Ethics and Social Responsibility, sblack10@ua.edu
Adam Bonertz Undergraduate student, anbonertz@crimson.ua.edu
Marco Bonizzoni
Chemistry, mbonizzoni@as.ua.edu
Laurie Bonnici
School of Library and Information Studies, lbonnici@slis.ua.edu
Karyn Bowen Community Affairs, kbowen@ua.edu
Karen Boykin Chemistry, knoykin@as.ua.edu
Scott Bridges
School of Music, sbridges@music.ua.edu
Jackie Brodsky Wayne State University and SLIS, brods001@crimson.ua.edu
Sally Brown Center For Economic Development, sally.brown@ua.edu
John T. F. Burgess School of Library and Information Studies, jtfburgess@ua.edu
Karen Canada School of Social Work, kcanada@sw.ua.edu
Jennifer L. Caputo New College and School of Music, jlcaputo@ua.edu
Vicky Carter Doctoral Student, vicky.carter72@gmail.com
Naomi Choi Political Science, nchoi@ua.edu
Chandra Clark Telecommunication and Film, chandra.clark@ua.edu
Shani Collins Social Work, shanikcollins@aol.com
Dee Cook Community Affairs, ddcook@ua.edu
Douglas Craddock Community Affairs, cradd002@sa.ua.edu
Gary Creek Academic Affairs, gcreek@ur.ua.edu
Martha R. Crowther Psychology, mrcrowther@ua.edu
George Daniels College of Communication and Information Sciences, gdaniels@ua.edu
Pamela Dorr HERO, Greensboro, pameladorr1@yahoo.com
Rita Doughty Social Work/Nursing, rrdoughty@sw.ua.edu
Isabelle Drewelow Modern Languages and Classics, idrewelow@bama.ua.edu
Ryan Earley Biological Sciences, rlearley@as.ua.edu
Craig Edalbrock Continuing Studies, cedelbrock@ccs.ua.edu
William A. Evans Telecommunication and Film, wevans@ua.edu
Mirit Eyal-Cohen Law Studies, meyalcohen@law.ua.edu
Daniel J. Fonseca Industrial Engineering, dfonseca@eng.ua.edu
Briana Ford Undergraduate student, bjford@crimson.ua.edu
David M. Ford Management and Marketing, dford@cba.ua.edu
Pamela Payne Foster Community and Rural Medicine, ppayne-foster@cchs.ua.edu
David A. Francko Dean of the Graduate School, dfrancko@ua.edu
Faythe R. Freese School of Music, faythefreese@earthlink.net
Kenneth Fridley Engineering, kfridley@eng.ua.edu
Yun Fu CCBP, yun.fu@ua.edu
Philip Gable Psychology, pgable@as.ua.edu
Brittany Galloway Graduate student, bjgalloway@crimson.ua.edu
Antonio Gardner Community Affairs, gardn039@crimson.ua.edu
Safiya George College of Nursing, sfgeorge@ua.edu
Kimberly Gibson School of Social Work, kbgibson2@ua.edu
Daniel Goebbert Chemistry, dgoebbert@as.ua.edu
J. Brian Gray Dean, College of Business, bgray@cba.ua.edu
Jeff Gray Computer Science, gray@cs.ua.edu
Rosianna Gray Community Affairs, rosianna.e.gray@ua.edu
Jennifer Greer Associate Provost Academic Affairs, jdgreer@ua.edu
Deidra Hall Undergraduate student, ddhall1@crimson.ua.edu
Karl Hamner Nursing/Social Work, khamner@bama.ua.edu
Samantha Hansen Geological Sciences, shansen@geo.ua.edu
David Hardy Education, dhardy@bamaed.ua.edu
William Hart Psychology, wphart@as.ua.edu
Elizabeth Hartley Community Affairs, ehartley@ua.edu
Beverly G. Hawk CCBP, beverly.hawk@ua.edu
Teri Henley Advertising and Public Relations, henley@apr.ua.edu
John C. Higginbotham Community and Rural Medicine, jhiggin@cchs.ua.edu
Peter Hlebowitsh Dean, College of Education, phlebowitsch@bama.ua.edu
Rick A. Houser Educational Studies in Psychology, rhouser@bamaed.ua.edu
Nicole Hughes Self-DrakeSchool of Law, nhughes@law.ua.edu
Rachel Hughes Student, rehughes@crimson.ua.edu
Michael Innis-Jiminez American Studies, mdinnisjiminez@bama.ua.edu
Matthew A. Jarrett Psychology, majarrett@as.ua.edu
Lindsey Johnson Academic Affairs, lpjohnson4@ua.edu
Rebecca Kelly Kinesiology, rkelly@ua.edu
Mary (Sabrena) Jackson School of Social Work, msjackson5@ua.edu
Pauline D. Johnson Civil and Environmental, Engineering paulinej@eng.ua.edu
Philip W. Johnson Civil and Environmental Engineering, pjohnson@eng.ua.edu
Tera Johnson Undergraduate student, tejohnson@crimson.ua.edu
Mary Jolley Community Volunteer, majolley@bellsouth.net
James King Culverhouse College of Commerce, jking@cba.ua.edu
Billy Kirkpatrick, Ph.D. Exec. Director, West Ala. AIDS Outreach, billy.waao@gmail.com
Lorne Kuffel Institutional Research and Assessment, lkuffel@ua.edu
Kimberly Lackey Biological Sciences, lacke003@bama.ua.edu
Cheryl Leonard Office of the Vice President for Research, cleonard@fa.ua.edu
Anne Levy Arts and Sciences - Theatre and Dance, aglevy1@ua.edu  
Yuehan Lu Geological Sciences, yuehan.lu@ua.edu
Felecia Lucky Black Belt Community Foundation, fjones@blackbeltfound.org
Lou Marino Culverhouse College of Commerce, lmarino@cba.ua.edu
Jim McLean CCBP, jmclean@ua.edu
Lane McLelland Crossroads Community Center, lane.mclelland@ua.edu
Kathryn Merritt Honors College, klmerritt@ua.edu
Claudia Mewes Physics and Astronomy, cmews@mint.ua.edu
Andrew Minear School of Music, atminear@ua.edu
Nisa Miranda Center for Economic Development, miranda@aitc.ua.edu
Jermaine Mitchell Community Affairs, jbmitchell1@crimson.ua.edu
Cynthia E. Moore Community and Rural Medicine, cmoore@cchs.ua.edu
Jacqueline V. Morgan Honors Colllege, jacqueline.morgan@ua.edu
Rob Morgan Culverhouse College of Commerce, rmorgan@cba.ua.edu
Edward Mullins CCBP, emullins@bama.ua.edu
Rekha Nath Philosophy, rnath@ua.edu
Mark D. Nelson Dean, C&IS, mnelson@ua.edu
Jane Newman College of Education, jnewman2@bamaed.ua.edu
Sharon E. Nichols Curriculum and Instruction, snichols@bama.ua.edu
Erin O'Rourke Modern Languages and Classics, eorourke@bama.ua.edu
Jeffrey G. Parker Psychology, j.g.parker@bama.ua.edu
Angelia Paschal Human Environmental Sciences, apaschal@ches.ua.edu
Mary Patterson AERN, mepatterson1@cba.ua.edu
Carl Pinkert Vice President for Research and Economical Development, cap@ua.edu
Heather Pleasants Institutional Effectiveness, heather.pleasants@ua.edu
Samory Pruitt Vice President of Community Affairs, samory.pruitt@ua.edu
Margaret A. Purcell
University of Alabama System, mpurcell@UASystem.ua.edu
Laura Reed Biology, lreed1@bama.ua.edu
Michelle Robinson English, mrobinson@as.ua.edu
Josh Sahib Gorgas Library, jsahib@ua.edu
Jenny Shaw
History, jenny.shaw@ua.edu
Sky Shineman Painting/Art, shineman@bama.ua.edu
Jennifer Shoaff Race and Gender Studies, simmo045@as.ua.edu
Roger Sidje Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, roger.b.sidje@ua.edu
Merinda Simmons Religious Studies, simmo045@ua.edu
Cassandra E. Simon School of Social Work, csimon@bama.ua.edu
Senator Bobby D. Singleton Alabama Legislature, bsingle164@yahoo.com
Cassander Smith English, clsmith17@bama.ua.edu
Patricia Sobecky Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, psobecky@ua.edu
Ellen G. Spears
New College and American Studies, egspears@as.ua.edu
Karen Spector Education, kspector@bamaed.ua.edu
Christopher H. Spencer CCBP, christopher.spencer@ua.edu
Alejandro Staehle Undergraduate student, abstaehle@crimson.ua.edu
B. Joyce Stallworth Academic Affairs, jstallwo@bamaed.ua.edu
Christina Staudhammer Biological Sciences, cstaudhammer@ua.edu
William Suclupe Veteran and Military Affairs, wdsuclupe@crimson.ua.edu
Cynthia Sunal Education, cvsunal@bamaed.ua.edu
Tommie S. Syx C&BA, tsyx@cba.ua.edu
Joanne J. Terrell School of Social Work, jterrell@sw.ua.edu
Beverly Thorn Psychology, bthorn@ua.edu
Patrick Toale Physics & Astronomy, patoale@bama.ua.edu
Glen Tootle Engineering, gatootle@eng.ua.edu
Dean Townsley Physics & Astronomy, dean.m.townsley@ua.edu
Kellie Wells English, kwells@bama.ua.edu
John Ross Wheat Community and Rural Medicine, jwheat@cchs.ua.edu
Kevin A. Whitaker Interim Provost, kwhitaker@eng.ua.edu
Javonda Williams School of Social Work, jwilliams11@sw.ua.edu
Megan Williams Student, meghanw806@gmail.ua.edu
Matthew Wisla Communications and Information Sciences, mwisla@ua.edu  
Thomas L. Wolfe Arts and Sciences, twolfe@as.ua.edu
Fan Yang Doctoral Student, stillwaterlly@gmail.com

Meeting Notes At A Glance